RMA awards dinner a success

Emcee Tom Proietti, second from left, with Rochester Media Association Impact Award winners (from left) Brother Wease, Don Alhart and Carol Ritter.

About 90 individuals from more than a dozen Rochester area media organizations were on hand for the inaugural Rochester Media Association awards dinner Saturday June 9 at St. John Fisher College.

The event honored 25 members of the local media for contributions to their organizations and the general community.

Signature honors, called the Impact Awards, were presented to three longstanding media professionals honoring both their professional achievements and their work with local charities and community groups. They were Carol Ritter Wright, retired reporter and columnist from the Democrat and Chronicle; Brother Wease, morning radio personality from 95.1 The Brew; and Don Alhart, anchor for WHAM13 News.

Also honored were two individuals each from 11 different media outlets in town, designated by their employers for their contributions to those organizations. They were:

  • ClearChannel radio:  Shari Smith, morning news anchor on WHAM 1180 and Paul “Pauly G” Guglielmo, producer for 95.1 The Brew.
  • Entercom Radio: Terry Clifford, morning host on WBEE, and Megan Carter, on-air personality, program director and music director at WPXY.
  • Messenger Post media: Linda Quinlan, Irondequoit-Webster reporter and Bethany Young, East Rochester reporter.
  • Minority Reporter newspaper: reporters Rodney Brown and Sharese Hardaway.
  • WDKX radio: On-air personalities Anthony “Tony” Boler and Tariq Spence.
  • WGMC radio: Operations director Jack Mindy and volunteer on-air host Phil Dodd.
  • WHAM Channel 13: Anchor Ginny Ryan and reporter/video journalist Angela Hong.
  • WHEC Channel 10: Anchor Janet Lomax and reporter/weekend anchor Christine VanTimmeren.
  • WROC Channel 8: Photographer Jason Gardner and news producer Nathan Bense.
  • WXXI: Videographer Marty Kaufman and reporter Helene Biandudi.
  • YNN: Reporter-anchors Cristina Domingues and Kate McGowan.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Want to join our board of directors?

    If you’re passionate about media, have ideas about how the Rochester Media Association can better serve our local media professionals, and you're willing to bring those ideas to life, we’d love to have you on our board. Click here for more information.
  • Become a Member TODAY!

    The Rochester Media Association was formed in 2011 to build a community of professionals from a wide range of local media organizations through social activities and networking, professional development, and recognition.

    It became a membership organization in early 2013, with annual dues of $25.

    Dues-paying members get discounts for events (including the annual recognition banquet), along with an opportunity to participate in selection of the Association's major honors: the Impact Awards presented at the awards banquet.

    Pay for membership securely online with PayPal
  • Contact/Follow the RMA

  • On Facebook

  • About the RMA

    The Rochester Media Association was formed in early 2011 to build a community of professionals from a wide range of local media organizations through social activities and networking, professional development, and recognition.

    The board of directors are:
    Juan Vazquez, WXXI, president
    Lisa Famiglietti, WXXI, vice president
    Len LaCara, D&C, secretary
    Jason Dusett, News10NBC, treasurer
    Ed Buttaccio, Spectrum News
    Dave Overacker, News10NBC
    Seth Palmer, 13WHAM
    Susan Connors, News 8
    Mike Danger, Entercom Communications
%d bloggers like this: