Second set of Impact Award honorees selected

The Rochester Media Association has named the second set of honorees for its Impact Awards, which are meant to honor individuals with a distinguished career in local media who also have made substantial contributions to the community. The awards will be presented at the Association’s second annual  banquet on June 15.

The winners are:

Rich Funke, longtime WHEC-TV Channel 10 reporter and anchor, who recently retired after a 40-year career in broadcasting. He has won numerous state and local awards for his work and also has been involved in fund-raising and other support for Camp Good Days and Special Times, Golisano Children’s Hospital and other community groups.

Jack Garner, critic and columnist for the Democrat and Chronicle, who retired from full-time work at the paper in 2007 but continues to contribute as a free-lancer. He serves on the boards of BOA Editions, poetry publishers, and Writers & Books,  and has been honored by the George Eastman House for his contributions to the world of film.

Beth Adams, radio news anchor with WXXI News and former longtime reporter at WHAM 1180 news. In addition to her long radio career Adams is active in the Rochester community, having volunteered for organizations including the Humane Society at Lollypop Farm, the Heart of Gold Children’s Foundation, the Rochester Press Radio Club Children’s Charities, and the Rochester Broadway Theater League Education Committee.

This year’s honorees follow the inaugural class honored last year, which consisted of Don Alhart, longtime WHAM-TV Channel 13 anchor; Carol Ritter Wright, retired reporter and columnist for the Democrat and Chronicle; and Brother Wease, radio personality with 95.1.

The Impact Award winners, who were selected by a vote of the RMA membership, will be honored at the dinner along with organizational contributors. Leading Rochester area media organizations have been asked to designate two honorees, one a Young Media Professional contributor (age 30 and younger) and one an Established Media Professional (over 30). The purpose of the event is to collectively and collaboratively celebrate outstanding work of media professionals across the Rochester community.

The event will take place at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center on Saturday June 15, beginning with a cocktail hour (cash bar) at 6:30 p.m., with dinner at 7:30 p.m. followed by the program. Don Alhart will be master of ceremonies.

Tickets cost $45 for members and $55 for non-members. See box to the right of this entry for additional information and links to order tickets online.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Want to join our board of directors?

    If you’re passionate about media, have ideas about how the Rochester Media Association can better serve our local media professionals, and you're willing to bring those ideas to life, we’d love to have you on our board. Click here for more information.
  • Become a Member TODAY!

    The Rochester Media Association was formed in 2011 to build a community of professionals from a wide range of local media organizations through social activities and networking, professional development, and recognition.

    It became a membership organization in early 2013, with annual dues of $25.

    Dues-paying members get discounts for events (including the annual recognition banquet), along with an opportunity to participate in selection of the Association's major honors: the Impact Awards presented at the awards banquet.

    Pay for membership securely online with PayPal
  • Contact/Follow the RMA

  • On Facebook

  • About the RMA

    The Rochester Media Association was formed in early 2011 to build a community of professionals from a wide range of local media organizations through social activities and networking, professional development, and recognition.

    The board of directors are:
    Juan Vazquez, WXXI, president
    Lisa Famiglietti, WXXI, vice president
    Len LaCara, D&C, secretary
    Jason Dusett, News10NBC, treasurer
    Ed Buttaccio, Spectrum News
    Dave Overacker, News10NBC
    Seth Palmer, 13WHAM
    Susan Connors, News 8
    Mike Danger, Entercom Communications
%d bloggers like this: