RMA awards dinner honors 23 for their work

Three recipients of the annual Impact Awards and 20 representatives of area media organizations were honored at the Rochester Media Association’s annual awards dinner Saturday June 13, 2013.

The Impact Awards, selected by a vote of the RMA membership, were made to:

  • Beth Adams, radio news anchor with WXXI News and former longtime reporter at WHAM 1180 news;
  • Rich Funke, longtime WHEC-TV Channel 10 reporter and anchor, who recently retired after a 40-year career in broadcasting; and
  •  Jack Garner, critic and columnist for the Democrat and Chronicle, who retired from full-time work at the paper in 2007 but continues to contribute as a free-lancer.

In addition, the following received honors for contributions to their media organizations.


  • Bob Lonsberry, WHAM 1180 talk show host, and Scott Brooks, 95.1 The Brew Morning Show producer, Clear Channel Radio.
  • Seth Voorhees, anchor and reporter, and Geoff Redick, reporter, YNN.
  • Julie Sherwood, senior reporter, and Erinn Cain, reporter,  Messenger Post Media.
  • Rebecca Leclair, anchor, and Amanda Ciavarri, reporter, WHEC News10.
  • Alex Crichton, radio host, and Lisa Famiglietti, producer, WXXI.
  • Mike Danger, program director at 98 PXY and 98.9 The Buzz, and Raphael Opida, on-air host WPXY, and Entercom Radio.
  • Doug Emblidge, anchor, and Alexis Arnold, reporter/anchor, 13WHAM news.
  • Laurylann Romeo-Costanzo, development director, and Lynda Wildman, on-air host, WGMC Jazz 90.1 radio.
  • Maureen McGuire, anchor, and Stacy Pensgen, meterologist, WROC News8.
  • James Lawrence, editorial page editor, and Tiffany Lankes, education reporter Democrat and Chronicle Media Group.

More than 100 members of the honorees’ organizations along with family and friends attended the awards dinner at the at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. WHAM-TV anchor Don Alhart was the master of ceremonies.

For reactions of many of the honorees and other participants see this compilation of Twitter coverage from the event.





Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Want to join our board of directors?

    If you’re passionate about media, have ideas about how the Rochester Media Association can better serve our local media professionals, and you're willing to bring those ideas to life, we’d love to have you on our board. Click here for more information.
  • Become a Member TODAY!

    The Rochester Media Association was formed in 2011 to build a community of professionals from a wide range of local media organizations through social activities and networking, professional development, and recognition.

    It became a membership organization in early 2013, with annual dues of $25.

    Dues-paying members get discounts for events (including the annual recognition banquet), along with an opportunity to participate in selection of the Association's major honors: the Impact Awards presented at the awards banquet.

    Pay for membership securely online with PayPal
  • Contact/Follow the RMA

  • On Facebook

  • About the RMA

    The Rochester Media Association was formed in early 2011 to build a community of professionals from a wide range of local media organizations through social activities and networking, professional development, and recognition.

    The board of directors are:
    Juan Vazquez, WXXI, president
    Lisa Famiglietti, WXXI, vice president
    Len LaCara, D&C, secretary
    Jason Dusett, News10NBC, treasurer
    Ed Buttaccio, Spectrum News
    Dave Overacker, News10NBC
    Seth Palmer, 13WHAM
    Susan Connors, News 8
    Mike Danger, Entercom Communications
%d bloggers like this: